Officers 2014/2015


mouradzghal_webMourad ZGHAL

Dr. Mourad ZGHAL is actually Professor at the University of Carthage, Tunisia. He received his Ph.D in electrical engineering from Tunis El-Manar University in 2000. His scientific activities are mainly focused on integrated optical devices, design and characterization of photonic crystal fibers, and nonlinear propagation of ultrashort pulses. He served at numerous program or steering committee of international scientific conferences. He was co-chair of the 2013 edition of the ETOP (Education and Training in Optics and Photonics) conference. In addition to his research activities, Prof ZGHAL has been extremely active in promoting photonics in Tunisia and Africa. He is the co-founder in 2002 and actual president (2012-2015) of the Optical Society of Tunisia, a member of the ICO family. He also co-founded the African Laser Center, an organization encouraging exchange of researchers and students across Africa. He was elected as Vice President of the ICO International Commission for Optics (2014-2017). Prof Zghal has been awarded the 2008 ICO/ICTP Gallieno Denardo prize for “his original work in the development of numerical modelling techniques for photonic crystal fibres, and for his active commitment aimed at the diffusion of research in optics in Africa”. Prof Zghal is senior member of OSA and Fellow of SPIE.




President : Amor GUEDDANA


Amor GUEDDANA received his engineering degree in Telecommunications in 2007, and his MSc degree in 2008, from the Higher School of Communication of Tunis, SUP’COM. He is an assistant professor at the Higher Institute of Computing, el Kef, Tunisia. Actually, He is finalizing his PhD degree in studying and modeling Quantum Controlled-NOT gates and their applications to quantum cryptography and quantum information encoding. He is an active member in the Green, Smart Communication System Lab (GRESCOM), where Mr. GUEDDANA is conducting research activities since 2008 in the areas of single photon generated by quantum dots, quantum cryptography, quantum photons entanglement, quantum computing, quantum databases, quantum query langages, quantum algorithms and quantum probabilistic logic CNOT gates. readmore

Vice President : Amira BAILI


Amira BAILI received her BSc diploma in Telecommunications in 2008 from Iset’Com, her « maîtrise » in electronics in 2010 from the Higher School of Sciences and Techniques of Tunis, and her MSc degree in Telecommunications in 2012 from Sup’Com, Tunisia. Since 2013, Amira is pursuing her PhD in Gres’Com lab. at Sup’Com in the study of the nonlinear effects in photonic structures and their applications to supercontinuum generation and slow light. readmore

Abir raghi

Secretary : Abir HRAGHI


Treasurer : Abderrahmen TRICHILI


Abderrahmen TRICHILI received his engineering degree in Telecommunications in 2013 from the Engineering School of Communication of Tunis (SUP’COM), Tunisia. In 2014, he started his PhD in GRESCOM lab. at Sup’Com on the spatial mode division multiplexing for high bit-rate communication systems. readmore



Amine BEN SALEM: OPTSC 2012 President.

Amine BEN SALEM received his engineering diploma in Telecommunications in 2009 from the Engineering School of Communication of Tunis (SUP’COM), Tunisia, and his MSc and PhD degrees from SUP’COM in 2010 and 2013, respectively. He is actually Assistant Professor at SUP’COM. His current research focuses on the study of the nonlinear optical effects in photonic nanowires. Amine’s core expertise includes fiber optics, modeling, and linear and nonlinear characterizations of photonic crystal fibers and photonic nanowires. readmore